I Voted Today

Kasey's Blog

As a registered elector in New Zealand at the age of 18, I cast my first vote today. Today I got to have my say on the issue of the New Zealand Flag and whether we should change it or keep it. As someone who has been excited about voting for a long time, I was pretty stoked to get a voting slip in the mail when I got home.

When I opened the packet, there was information about voting, how to vote written in most languages, images of the two flags in the same contexts flying proudly as emblems of New Zealand. There was a simple piece of paper that had two big boxes, one of which I would eventually tick. Emphasis on eventually.

Voting is tough. It’s official. It’s very real. When you cast a vote you set in stone that in the moment you ticked a box this…

View original post 441 more words

Leave a Reply

